Introducing a New Two-Day In-Person Training

Greetings Everyone,

I am thrilled to share a new two-day in-person training I’ll be offering this June in partnership with the Network for Edwork

Social Justice Stewardship: Relational Skills for Sustainable Change will be held on June 20-21 at the Bethaday Community Learning Center in Seattle.

The challenges of social justice work are as much internal as they are external. Burnout, personality conflicts, and siloing within social justice communities all limit their ability to achieve the impact they’re aiming for.

This training will provide space for people across various sectors (food access, education, health care, law, etc…) to come together to ask how we can work well with the challenging dynamics of social justice work. In other words, how we can become better stewards of it?

When I think about stewardship, I think about the labor of holding space, leadership development, conflict facilitation, and capacity-building. To my mind, the central axis on which all of these tasks turn is the axis of relationship. That’s why the primary focus of this training will be on the relational skills needed for sustainable social change work.

Although this training is new, it will incorporate components of my work you may already be familiar with - most notably the framework I’ve presenting over the past year for working with the “live wire” of oppression.

For the next few months, I’ll be using my newsletter to share more about the content of this training, introduce the facilitation team, and generally help folks decide if this might be something they’d like to register for. (Click here to learn more and check out the registration page.)

I’ll also be on the lookout for opportunities to spread the word. If you’re part of a group or organization that might be interested in learning more or sharing this with your audience, please reach out. I’m happy to speak at staff meetings, informal gatherings, or connect with people one-on-one who’d like more information.

I hope you're doing well. Please feel free to reach out to connect with any questions, comments, or updates. Now that I'm no longer using TinyLetter for my newsletters, you'll have to send me an email at james.boutin@mailfence.com to get in touch. Please do!

Did someone forward you this email? Would you like to sign up to be on my mailing list? Click here.

Lots of LOVE,

James

Upcoming Events

The Bite of Education Seattle
A Free Festival PD for Educators
April 20 at Othello-UW Commons in Seattle
Click here to learn more and register